British Poker Awards: Victoria Coren Mitchell and Dusk till Dawn Steal the Show

TAGs: British Poker Awards, British Poker Awards 2015, Daniel Negreanu, Dusk Till Dawn, Jake Cody, Lee Davy, Patrick Leonard, Sam Trickett, simon deadman, Victoria Coren Mitchell

Victoria Coren Mitchell and the team from Dusk till Dawn were the stars of the British Poker Awards taking home six awards at the Hippodrome in London.

Victoria Coren Mitchell, and the team at Dusk till Dawn (DTD), are the undisputed masters of British Poker after winning six awards in London’s Hippodrome last night.

British Poker Awards: Victoria Coren Mitchell and Dusk till Dawn Steal the ShowCoren Mitchell was one of three players nominated for three awards. She won the lot: Best Social Media User, Poker Personality of the Year and Performance of the Year. Her achievement means she now ties with Sam Trickett as the most successful recipient of BPA’s with six each. Trickett didn’t receive a single nomination this year.

On the poker front it’s been a big year for Coren Mitchell. She became the first two-time European Poker Tour (EPT) Main Event champion after winning the Season 10 San Remo Main Event, and then she shocked everyone by walking away from her PokerStars contract over a values clash.

“Three times as many awards as Eddie Redmayne (if anyone asks I am wearing TK Maxx).” Tweeted Victorious Coren Mitchell.

Dusk till Dawn (DTD) also got the opportunity to smudge fingerprints over three awards. They maintained their 100% consistency by picking up the Best Live Cardroom Award; they had a hand in the Best Tournament Award for the partypoker sponsored WPT500 event, and Rob Yong was honored for his outstanding contribution to the growth of poker.

DTD has been the breeding ground for a vast number of top British pros. One of their best grassroots to professional circuit success stories belongs to Simon Deadman. This is where he learned his trade – a trade that saw him pick up two awards for Breakout Player of the Year and Live Tournament Player of the Year.

“Wow! I’m overwhelmed. Incredible feeling! Love to everyone who voted.” Deadman posted on his Facebook wall.

Deadman was the second person to be nominated for three awards. The only player to hit a brick wall, out of that trio, was the online star Patrick Leonard. Pleno1 was being nominated for the first time in his career.

One of the reasons that Leonard was unable to bag an award was Chris Moorman. If the Best Live Cardroom trophy can be ordered in bulk, so too can the Best Online Player trophy – Moorman picking up the award for the fifth consecutive year.

Daniel Negreanu picked up the Best International Player of the Year award for the second time running. This despite the fact that Daniel Colman had a year like none other. Toby Stone maintained his 100% record of winning the Best Tournament Director award; RunItOnce did likewise in the Best Training Site category, and Red Tooth Poker took down the Best Poker League award.

That leaves the award for Best Blogger. An award I would like to see dropped if I am being honest. Getting a poker player to regularly update a blog is as difficult as getting your teenage kid to regularly wash under the hood.

In the past, this award has been the main source of mantelpiece jewelry for Neil Channing. But it wasn’t going to be his year. For the first time since the conception of the BPA’s. Neil Channing was out for a duck. Jake Cody was the best blogger. Proving once again that whatever the lad from Rochdale enters – he wins.


views and opinions expressed are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of