European Poker Awards nominees announced

TAGs: David Vamplew, European Poker Awards, Jake Cody, James Bord, Liv Boeree, Sam Trickett

european-poker-awardsIf you thought there weren’t enough gambling industry awards ceremonies to go around, one more awards soiree has just announced the shortlist for their awards taking place next month.

Now into their 10th year, the European Poker Awards will this year take place in Paris, France, and the nominations are a who’s who of finest poker players Europe has to offer – dominated by a large contingent of British players.

Player of the Year includes two Brits in the shape of Sam Trickett and Jake Cody, in addition to Theo Jorgensen (Denmark), and Vladimir Schemelev (Russia). Elsewhere on the list the outstanding performance at a tournament is likely to be one of the most hotly contested.

We were present to see two of them take down the final table at two of London’s biggest tournaments of the year, with James Bord winning a WSOPe bracelet and the pocket-rocket from Scotland, David Vamplew, exceeding all expectations by winning the London leg of the EPT. The other British nominees for this award include the hooded Jake Cody after winning the WPT London, and Liv Boeree for her win at the EPT San Remo.

The awards take place on February 13 and the full list of nominees is as follows:

Player of the Year:
Theo Jorgensen (Denmark)
Jake Cody (England)
Sam Trickett (England)
Vladimir Schemelev (Russia)

Poker staff person of the year:
Marty Wilson of Matchroom Sport (England)
Simon Trumper, Dusk Till Dawn (England)
Thomas Kremser, TK Events (Austria)
Gerard Serra Retamero ,TK Events (Spain)
Kirsty Thompson, president of the UKIPT ( England)

Internet Player of the Year:
Chris Moorman (England)
Patrik Antonius (Finland)
Mickey Petersen (Denmark)
Ilsidur (n/a)
Andreas Torbergsen (Norway)

Outstanding tournament performance:
James Bord (England)
Jake Cody (England)
Fillipo Candio (Italy)
Liv Boeree (England)
Tobias Rinkemeier (Germany)
David Vamplew (Scotland)

Europe’s Leading Lady:
Liv Boeree (England)
Annette Obrestadt (Norway)

Rookie of the Year. For the most promising newcomer:
Jake Cody (England)
David Vamplew (Scotland)
Toby Lewis (England)
Julian Herold (Germany)
Fernando Brito (Portugal)

Rob Gardner Memorial Award for the Poker Personality of 2010:
Jesse May (Denmark/USA)
Tony Guoga (Lithuania)
Anthony Holden (England)


views and opinions expressed are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of