Poker Bits & Bobs: MPN MTT Changes; Brian May Honours Devilfish; And More

TAGs: Brian May, Lee Davy, Microgaming Poker Network

Lee Davy brings you a few pieces of bite size goodness from the world of poker including a new tournament schedule on the Microgaming Poker Network, the chance to win a Brian May signed electric guitar at the Devilfish Open, and much more.

The Microgaming Poker Network (MPN) has rolled out a new tournament structure for its 27+ poker clients and here are the main highlights:

Poker Bits & Bobs: MPN MTT Changes; Brian May Honours Devilfish; And MoreThere are three brand new daily tournaments with the same structure but differing buy-in and guarantee. There is a €5.50 Kilobyte event with a €500 Guarantee, a €33 buy-in Megabyte tournament with a €2,500 guarantee, and a €110 buy-in Gigabyte tournament with a €7,500 guarantee.

Moving up in stakes, and there will be a €215 buy-in €10,000 Guarantee Mega Moolah every Monday, and a €215 buy-in €10,000 Guarantee Thunderstruck event every Thursday.

There will also be a series of brand new formats including Burst Tournaments that have 15 two-minute levels followed by six-minute levels during the bubble.

Flash tournaments and Satellite events with 300 chips, two-minute levels and the winners gain entry into the sites major events.

There will be an Hour Long Tournament where the game ends on the hour, and everyone cashing takes what they have earned with 10% of the field exiting every six minutes.

The MPN is also ready to roll out its brand new Mac Client across the board after a successful trial at

GPL Avatars Available at PokerStars

It was great news to hear that the Global Poker League (GPL) had picked up PokerStars as their primary sponsor. With the GPL entering the PlayOffs and Finals phases you aren’t going to see too many interactions between the two companies, but there has been a small change, that may interest you. Avatars from all 12 GPL franchises can now be acquired in the PokerStars lobby so you can show your allegiance when playing online poker at the world’s largest site.

Brian May Honours The Devilfish

Players reliably informed me, while doing research on the history of Late Night Poker, that one of the things they always looked forward to was playing cash games at the hotel with the Devilfish as he played his guitar and sang out his moves.

So he will be looking down from the heavens with a big old smile on his face after the World Poker Tour (WPT), and Dusk Till Dawn (DTD) announced that the winner of the £5,300 buy-in £1m Guaranteed Devilfish Cup will also walk away with a one-of-a-kind guitar signed by the Queen legend Brian May.

The Devilfish Cup forms part of the WPT UK Festival, an event that also contains the £2,200 WPT UK Main Event and WPT500. Both events also have a £1m guaranteed prize pool.

Dylan Linde and Ravi Raghavan Pick Up WSOPC Wins

One of the nicest guys in poker has just picked up his first major live tournament victory of his career.

Dylan ‘ImaLucSac’ Linde has won $5.5m playing online poker, is a well sought-after coach on the online training site RunItOnce, and after today he is a World Series of Poker Circuit (WSOPC) gold ring winner.

Linde defeated 1,308 entrants to take the first prize of $348,269 in the WSOPC Horseshoe Hammond Main Event. It’s his largest career score both online or live, and he also bags a seat in the season-ending Global Casino Championships where he could add a gold bracelet to his collection.

Linde has now earned over $1.2m playing live tournaments.

Final Table Results

1. Dylan Linde – $348,269

2. Arif Rahim – $215,820

3. Zachary Riselman – $158,392

4. Ronald Sewell – $119,682

5. Bradford Abrinck – $91,331

6. Nicola Ditrapani – $70,298

7. Benjamin Keeline – $54,740

8. David Hengen – $43,125

9. Michael Campbell – $34,374

Joining Linde in the Global Casino Championships will be the WPT Champions Club member, Ravi Raghavan, who ended the series as the Casino Champion. Raghavan won the $5,300 High Roller for $132,798 after beating Keven Stammen in heads-up action, as well as finishing 16th in the Main Event.

Final Table Results

1. Ravi Raghavan – $132,798

2. Keven Stammen – $82,075

3. Mark Sandness – $57,453

4. Millard Hale III – $41,849

5. Blake Battaglia – $30,789

6. Alexander Doroshko – $22,999

7. Ping Liu – $18,447

8. Semin Topalovic – $15,376

9. David Soskin – $13,214


views and opinions expressed are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of