World Series of Poker: Mike Gorodinsky Wins Player of the Year Award

World Series of Poker: Mike Gorodinsky Wins Player of the Year Award

World Series of Poker: Mike Gorodinsky Wins Player of the Year Award
[Image Credit: PokerNews & Joe Giron]
Mike Gorodinsky sees off a late surge by Jonathan Duhamel to lock up the 2015 World Series of Poker Player of the Year award, with the Main Event still to play.

Mike Gorodinsky has joined an elite band of 10-men crowned King of the World Series of Poker (WSOP). He held off a late challenge from Jonathan Duhamel to win the 2015 WSOP Player of the Year (POY) award in Berlin.

Gorodinsky traveled to the German capital, for the World Series of Poker Europe (WSOPE) festival, at the head of a ravenous chasing pack. It wasn’t a roof-raising trip, but it’s getting over the finish line that matters.

It was a time of change for the WSOP POY format. The Global Poker Index (GPI) were chosen to replace BLUFF as the engine that runs the show. It was a decision that didn’t meet with universal approval, and when you look at the performances of Gorodinsky and the runner-up Duhamel it’s easy to see why.

Gorodinsky cashed in eight events, made three final tables, won one bracelet and earned $1,766,828 in prize money. He finished runner-up to Phil Hellmuth in the $10,000 Seven Card Razz Championship for $167,517. He was third behind Jason Mercier and Simon Deadman in the $5,000 No-Limit Hold’em Six-Max for $246,867. His bracelet victory came in the $50,000 The Players Championship where he beat Jean-Robert Bellande heads-up to claim the $1,270,086 first prize. He now has two WSOP bracelets in a dusty draw somewhere.

Duhamel cashed nine times, made three final tables, won two bracelets and earned $4,702,101 in prize money. He won the One Drop High Roller for $3,989,985, the WSOPE €25,600 High Roller for $628,915 and finished fourth in WSOPE Event #5: €2,200 Mixed Event for $23,951. He now has three WSOP bracelets.

In the end, the margin of victory was 77.17 points, making Gorodinsky’s 42nd place finish in Event: #8 €1,100 No-Limit Hold’em Turbo event, critical, as he was awarded 94.62 points for that finish according to data provided on the Hendon Mob website.

Was Gorodinsky happy with the win?

You bet.

But nothing could top being reunited with his best buddy.

WSOP POY Final Standings

1st. Mike Gorodinsky – 2,251.81
2nd. Jonathan Duhamel – 2,174.64
3rd. Kevin MacPhee – 2,168.98
4th. Brian Hastings – 2,122.53
5th. Shaun Deeb – 2,056.40
6th. Anthony Zinno – 1,942.72
7th. Paul Volpe – 1,889.46
8th. Ismael Bojang – 1,808.40*
9th. Stephen Chidwick – 1,764.68
10th. Mike Leah – 1,710.95

*Ismael Bojang was the only player to feature in the Top 10 for the second successive year. He finished seventh in 2014.

WSOP POY History

2004 – Daniel Negreanu*
2005 – Allen Cunningham
2006 – Jeff Madsen
2007 – Tom Schneider
2008 – Erick Lindgren
2009 – Jeff Lisandro
2010 – Frank Kassela
2011 – Ben Lamb
2012 – Greg Merson
2013 – Daniel Negreanu*
2014 – George Danzer