Bryn Kenney wins the €100k SHR PokerStars Championships Monte Carlo

Bryn Kenney wins the €100k SHR PokerStars Championships Monte Carlo

Bryn Kenney becomes the first person to win two PokerStars $100k buy-in events after taking the $1.7m first prize in the PokerStars Championship Super High Roller in Monte Carlo.

Bryn Kenney wins the €100k SHR PokerStars Championships Monte CarloBryn Kenney has continued to shed personal poundage but add bankroll poundage after winning the €100,000 PokerStars Championship Super High Roller Monte Carlo.

According to the PokerNews blog, Kenney ‘destroyed’ the final table, taking out three of the final eight players after Ike Haxton had fallen on the bubble.

Kenney’s heads-up opponent, Viacheslav Buldygin, also took out three opponents on the final table but still began the final duel with a 5-1 chip disadvantage, and faced with a history of losing his last three heads-up encounters.

“Maybe it could be a fourth time,” grinned a prophetic Kenney who took all of Buldygin’s chips when the pair got it in 22>KQ with Kenny flopping a set.

Kenney, who recently wrote on his Facebook page that all of the things people loved about PokerStars has disappeared, has now won $5,251,955 in 2016, $40k more than last year and we still haven’t reached the World Series of Poker (WSOP).

The event attracted 61 entrants and €5,948,415 in prize money. Kenney banked €1,784,500 for the win. He also earned $1.5m at the PokerStars Championships Bahamas winning two High Roller events. His victory in Monte Carlo sets him apart from the elite as the only player to win two $100k buy-in events after taking down the final Super High Roller at the PokerStars Caribbean Adventure (PCA) last year for $1.6m.

Kenney flew into Monte Carlo days after winning $300,000 in a $25,000 buy-in Aria High Roller. And it’s that consistency that has seen him rise to the top of the 2017 Global Poker Index (GPI) Player of the Year (POY) rankings.

Final Table Results

1. Bryn Kenney – €1,784,500
2. Viacheslav Buldygin – €1,290,800
3. Daniel Dvoress – €832,800
4. David Peters – €630,600
5. Ole Schemion – €487,715
6. Steffen Sontheimer – €380,700
7. Martin Kabrhel – €303,350
8. Sam Greenwood – €237.950

Ole Schemion, who finished fifth in the Super High Roller, also won the €10,300 Opening Eight-Max Event for €274,750 after beating Murad Akhundov in heads-up. Steve O’Dwyer was fourth, and Ryan Riess was sixth.