GPI American Poker Awards Nomination Process Begins; Two New Categories Introduced: Poker Moment and Poker Presenter of The Year

TAGs: Global Poker Index, Global Poker Index America Poker Awards, Global Poker League

The nomination process for the Global Poker Index American Poker Awards has begun, and there will be two new categories in the field of Best Poker Moment and Best Poker Presenter.

If there is one place I want to be on February 25, 2016, it’s the SLS Hotel in Beverly Hills, California.

It’s going to be the most exciting day in poker since I joined this cute little bubble.

It’s going to be Global Poker League (GPL) Draft Day.

GPI American Poker Awards Nomination Process Begins; Two New Categories Introduced: Poker Moment and Poker Presenter of The YearBy that time, of course, we will know all of the team names, the locations of those teams, and the franchise owners. The cogs in the machine have begun whirring after announcing Chris Moneymaker will lead the Las Vegas Moneymakers – the first team announcement drip-fed to the media by Alex Dreyfus’ well-oiled media machine.

But the players.

The meat in the sandwich.

Who will selected?

Who will be left with their back against the gym wall?

Feb 25 is not only GPL Draft Day. If you are lucky enough to be invited on the day, you also get the opportunity to attend the GPI American Poker Conference and the GPI American Poker Awards Ceremony & Dinner.


• GPL American Poker Conference | Feb 25 8:30 AM – 12:30 PM

• GPL Draft Day | Feb 25 2:00PM – 5:00 PM

• GPI American Poker Awards Ceremony & Dinner | Feb 25 7:30 PM – 11:00 PM

It’s the second time the GPI has held the Poker Conference and American Poker Awards. Last year, was the first time since I joined this business that the heads of all the mafioso were in one place. It was great for the game of poker. Let’s hope that extends to this year also.

The nomination process for the American Poker Awards has begun. Over 50 industry personnel will be involved in casting their votes in 11 categories. Keen-eyed observers will note that’s two more categories than the 2014 awards.

Here are the new boys:

Poker Moment of the Year: an unforgettable hand played, an unexpected player’s bust out, an unbelievable story among the poker world… 2015 gave us loads of poker moments that we won’t soon forget – we’ll celebrate that moment by finding the most memorable one!

Poker Presenter of the Year: on TV, live stream or videos, a long list of familiar faces accompanied you all along 2015 by sharing tournaments live videos, video interviews, off-the-felt info or poker shows. Time has come to reward the best of them!

Here is a remainder of the eight remaining categories and the 2014 winners.

• Breakout Performance of the Year – Brandon Shack-Harris

• Media Person of the Year – Chris Grove

• Event of the Year, buy-in below $2,000 – WSOP Monster Stack

• Event of the Year, buy-in above $2,000 – WSOP Main Event

• Tournament Performance of the Year

• Media Content of the Year – Brad Willis

• Industry Person of the Year – Adam Pliska

• Poker Innovation or Initiative of the Year – Twitch

• Charitable Initiative of the Year – “All In” For Kids

The nomination panel will vote for two names in each category. The top four in each group will then be released as potential winners. On the morning of the event, a final jury will meet to select a winner from those four. The nomination panel’s votes will be confidential, and not even the jury will know who voted for whom.

Voting closes on 20th January, for those involved in the process, and those people will be notified via e-mail.


views and opinions expressed are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of