Tokuho Yoshinaga Wins the ACOP Platinum Series X Main Event

TAGs: acop, Tokuho Yoshinaga

Tokuho Yoshinaga, of Japan, has won the HK$5,500 Asia Championships of Poker Platinum Series X Main Event at the PokerStars LIVE cardroom in Macau.

Tokuho Yoshinaga has won the top prize in the 2015 Asia Championships of Poker (ACOP) Platinum Series X HK$5,500 buy-in Main Event. The man from Japan defeated the Brit James Goodman, in heads-up action, to take the first prize of HK$272,946 (USD$35,000).

It was a fine ending to an event that saw PokerStars put up a guaranteed total prize pool of HK$1.3million spread over eight different tournaments: July 21 – 28.

ACOP Platinum Series X Schedule (HK$)

Tokuho Yoshinaga Wins the ACOP Platinum Series X Main Event1. $2,000 Deepstack NLH

2. $1,000 Deepstack PLO (re-entry)

3. $3,000 NLH [2-day event]

4. $5,500 Main Event ($800,000 GTD)

5. $3,000 Saturday Superstack ($100k GTD)

6. $10,000 NLH

7. $5,500 Megastack ($400k GTD)

8. $2,500 KO Bounty

All eight tournaments offered ACOP Player of the Year (POY) points.

Last year the Platinum IX Main Event attracted 181 entrants, and this year that figure was exceeded by 39% when 252 players made sure the $800,000 guarantee was easily beaten.

27-players were paid and they included the Team PokerStars Pro Celina Lin. The two-time Macau Poker Cup winner returning to the East from an unsuccessful World Series of Poker (WSOP) to continue her stubborn streak with a final table bubble berth after her pocket sixes failed to win a flip against ace-king.

The top 10 players all qualify for the ACOP Platinum Series Playoff scheduled for October 18 where there will be chances to win seats into the HK$100,000 2015 ACOP Main Event.

Final Table Results (HK$)

1st. Tokuho Yoshinaga – $272,946

2nd. James Goodman – $176,200

3rd. Gareth Griffiths – $113,700

4th. Nan Tu ($90,000)

5th. Zhanfeng Wu ($71,600)

6th. Chaun Hong Li ($56,800)

7th. Daniel Ropski ($45,500)

8th. Sam Keng Lon Cheong ($36,900)

9th. Xiabo Huang ($28,400)

ACOP Player of the Year Standings (as of 14th July)

1st. Yu Guang Li – 4,425 points

2nd. KC Wong – 4,340

3rd. Yang Zhang – 4,039

4th. Yuny Lu – 3,840

5th. Liang Yu – 3,038

6th. Tony Cheng – 2,953

7th. Yifan Zhang – 2,880

8th. Pete Chen – 2,798

9th. Leon Li-Ta Hsu – 2,605

10th – Weijie Ye – 2,461

Previous winners of the ACOP POY award:

2014: Pete Yen Han Chen (Chinese Taipei)

2013: Jian Yang (China)

2012: Yosuke Sekiya (Japan)

2011: Hung-sheng “Shaq” Lin (Chinese Taipei)

2010: Bryan Huang (Singapore)

2009: Kitty Kuo (Chinese Taipei)

The next ACOP event will be The Macau Poker Cup 23 on 28 August 2015 featuring a HK$12,000 Main Event.


views and opinions expressed are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of