Australian Poker Hall of Fame: 2015 Nominees Announced

Australian Poker Hall of Fame: 2015 Nominees Announced

The Australian Poker Hall of Fame has announced their nominations for the 2015 induction ceremony, and the general public get in on the action for the very first time.

The PokerStars Caribbean Adventure (PCA) has ended, and the players with enough money, and Australian Poker Hall of Fame: 2015 Nominees Announcedmotivation, will now be heading to Australia for the second major tournament of 2015: The Aussie Millions.

The 2015 Aussie Millions will be a hotbed of action, but it’s also the time to honor the players, ambassadors and integral parts of the poker furniture that have made Australian and New Zealand poker what it is today. I am, of course, talking about the Australian Poker Hall of Fame (HOF).

The concept began in 2009-2010. Being the big bang it was decided to pad it out a bit: Joe Hachem, Jeff Lisandro, Billy Argyros, Gary Benson, Lee Nelson, Mel Judah, Tony Guoga, Maurie Pears and Marsha Waggoner the original nine.

Leo Boxell and Danny McDonagh would follow in 2010-2011; Jason Gray and David Gorr likewise in 2011-2012, and Graeme Putt slowed things down as the sole entry in 2013-2014.

So who’s likely to end up in the HOF in 2015?

The smart money seems to be on Grant Levy. 2014-2015 is the first year that the committee has sought the opinion of the general public, and the initial feedback points to Levy as being the strongest candidate.

Levy was the first Australian to win a million dollar prize, on home soil, when he won the Asian Pacific Poker Tour (APPT) Main Event in Sydney, back in 2007, won the Australian and New Zealand Poker Tour (ANZPT) Main Event in Perth, two years later, and also represented PokerStars. He has over $2m in live tournament earnings.

Levy is up against the 2008 APPT Manila Main Event champion Van Marcus; 2013 Aussie Millions runner-up Joe Cabret; four-time Aussie Millions side event winner Michael Guttman; WSOP and WPT final tablist Tino Lechich, and 2009 Aussie Millions High Roller Champion David Steicke.

There are various ways to have your say, all of which involved PokerAsiaPacific. Head over to the PokerAsiaPacific Facebook Page, Poker Forum or Blog, and let your voice be heard.

The final decision will be made during the 2015 Aussie Millions.