The Chicago Poker Classic Misses Guarantee Number Two

TAGs: Carlos Mortenson, chicago Poker Classic, Hammond Casino, Lee Davy, Mike Mustafa, NLHE, Sachin Bhargava, world series of poker, WPT World Championships, WSOP

The Chicago Poker Classic (CPC) has fallen short of their guarantees in the first two competitions, as the free money goes the way of Sachin Bhargava in Event #2.

The Chicago Poker Classic Misses Guarantee Number TwoThe CPC is turning out to be a little expensive for the Hammond Casino.

Event #1 missed its $1m guarantee by $50,400, and Event #2: $500 No-Limit Hold’em (NLHE) has missed its $500,000 guarantee by $145,360, after only 806 entrants climbed through the ropes and took their seats in the thick of the action.

One man who benefited most from all of the free money was the eventual winner Sachin Bhargava who pocketed $104,263 after defeating the highly capable Mike Mustafa in the three-day event.

Bhargava may have been the chip leader, as he entered the final table, but it was Mustafa who had all of the experience and was the betting man’s choice to take the title.

Mustafa once finished fifth in a World Series of Poker (WSOP) Six-Max event that contained the likes of John Beauprez, Manig Loeser, Eric Blair, Joe Cada and Keven Stammen, and also came second to Carlos Mortenson in the 2010 World Poker Tour (WPT) World Championships.

Bhargava, by stark contrast, had no more than $7,000 in live tournament earnings to his name, and a decision to make, going in to Day 2, because he had 28 big blinds and was due in work for his employer Innova Financial based in downtown Chicago.

“I just told them I needed a personal day and it was fine. I never expected I’d end up winning $104,000. I did not call in sick. I didn’t lie – a personal day.”

What a nice employer…

Other notables players who cashed included Shawn Reed (74th), Paul Bianchi (54th), Dan Heimiller (27th), Ben Keeline (10th) and Pavlin Karakikov (sixth).

Final Table Standings

1st: Sachin Bhargava – $104,263

2nd: Mike Mustafa – $64,452

3rd: Brad Sailor – $42,219

4th: Richard Frye – $29,226

5th: Matthew Rosen – $21,316

6th: Pavlin Karakikov – $16,335

7th: Musa Taher – $13,124

8th: Marc Bernal – $11,034

9th: Michael Giorango – $9,685


views and opinions expressed are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of