Poker News: Blom wins Showdown; Everest Poker ONE concludes; EPT Champion of Champions RSVPs

TAGs: EPT, Everest Poker ONE, SuperStar Showdown, viktor blom

Viktor "isildur1" BlomViktor “Isildur1” Blom took part in the second “diet” SuperStar Superdown and showed the latest online qualifier why he’s the hottest thing in poker since this morning’s burnt toast. Polish qualifier “Mastermixus” entered Blom’s boudoir d’poker with a $15,000 bankroll over the 2,500 hands of $5/$10 no-limit hold’em. It started off well for Mastermixus but Isildur1 then showed why his in-form streak has seen the demise of Daniel Negreanu and Scott “urnotindangr” Palmer in recent weeks. It was a far-from-convincing win but Blom ending up winning $1,279 and Mastermixus was able to keep the remaining $13,721 of his bankroll. It does give Blom another notch in the win column and moves his record to 6-3 with total profits in the Showdown of $351,486.

Everest Poker ONE winner Julian KabitzeThe first ever edition of Everest Poker’s live tournament came to a conclusion over the weekend with Germany dominating the final table. Julian Kabitze was crowned as the Everest Poker ONE Main Event’s first champion at the Salle des Palmiers in Monaco after he saw off a field of 221 players from around the world. The German took home the first prize of €300,000. His fellow countryman Alexander Debus was runner up taking home a cool €170,000 with Aussie Joel Dodds taking third with €112,000.

EPT Champion of ChampionsPoker’s very-own WWE-style Champion of Champions event takes place next month in Madrid and a number of players confirmed their attendance at the European Poker Tour (EPT) event over the weekend. PokerStars’ blog is reporting that more than 40 previous EPT champions have confirmed their attendance, and the list is as follows:
• Rob Hollink
• Pascal Perrault
• Brandon Schaefer
• Alexander Stevic
• Jeff Williams
• Mats Iremark
• Jan Boubli
• Peter Jepsen
• Andreas Hoivold
• Roland de Wolfe
• Thang Duc Nguyen
• Vicky Coren
• Bjorn-Erik Glenne
• Glen Chorny
• Jason Mercier
• Michael Schulze
• Tim Vance
• Mike McDonald
• Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier
• Arnaud Mattern
• Joseph Mouawad
• Pieter de Korver
• Constant Rijkenberg
• Sandra Naujoks
• Jens Kyllönen
• João Barbosa
• Will Fry
• Nicolas Chouity
• Liv Boeree
• Anton Wigg
• Jan Skampa
• Antonio Matias
• Christophe Benzimra
• Aaron Gustavson
• Carter Phillips
• Galen Hall
• Roberto Romanello
• Kent Lundmark
• Michael Eiler
• David Vamplew
• Kevin Stani
Ben Wilinofsky
• Vladimir Geshkenbein

The action gets underway on May 13 at the Casino Gran Madrid after the conclusion of the EPT Grand Final. Whether the EPT has managed to procure a championship belt from the WWE only they will know.


views and opinions expressed are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of