Poker Players Alliance issues list of poker-friendly politicians

TAGs: Barney Frank, Midterm elections, Poker Players Alliance

Poker-Players-Alliance-PoliticiansFederal Election Commission filings reveal that Massachusetts Congressman and longtime online poker advocate Barney Frank has received some $54K in donations from poker pros, including Howard Lederer, Phil Ivey, Chris Moneymaker, Vanessa Rousso and Greg Raymer.

Frank is a familiar face with online poker players, so it’s not surprising that pros would go all-in on his behalf, but other like-minded politicians may not enjoy the same celebrity. Thus, ahead of the November 2nd midterm elections, the grass-roots advocacy group Poker Players Alliance has published a list of poker-friendly politicians to help its one-million members identify friend from foe at the ballot box.

The list of 58 Congressional reps endorsed by the Poker Political Action Committee crosses party lines and includes both incumbents and challengers. In compiling the list, the PPA considered a politican’s support of poker-friendly legislation (such as HR2267), Congressional letters of support, public statements and private meetings with PPA members. (If your local pol didn’t make the list, find out their grade by visiting the PPA’s site and using their searchable by state/zip-code guide.)

Based on the above criteria, PokerPAC endorses the following candidates (*indicates non-incumbent).

• John Adler (D-NJ)
• Robert Andrews (D-NJ)
• Joe Barton (R-TX)
• Shelley Berkley (D-NV)
• Michael Bennet (D-CO)
• Judy Biggert (R-IL)
• Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)
• John Callahan* (D-PA)
• John Campbell (R-CA)
• Russ Carnahan (D-MO)
• Lacy Clay (D-MO)
• Steve Cohen (D-TN)
• John Conyers (D-MI)
• Joe Courtney (D-CT)
• Steve Driehaus (D-OH)
• Barney Frank (D-MA)
• Joe Garcia* (D-FL)
• Jim Gerlach (R-PA)
• Alan Grayson (D-FL)
• Alcee Hastings (D-FL)
• Dean Heller (R-NV)
• Jim Himes (D-CT)
• Paul Hodes (D-NH)
• Steve Israel (D-NY)
• Darrell Issa (R-CA)
• Paul Kanjorski (D-PA)
• Peter King (R-NY)
• Mary Jo Kilroy (D-OH)
• Suzanne Kosmas (D-FL)
• Leonard Lance (R-NJ)
• John Larson (D-CT)
• Christopher Lee (R-NY)
• Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ)
• Connie Mack (R-FL)
• Dan Maffei (D-NY)
• Kenny Marchant (R-TX)
• Betsy Markey (D-CO)
• Jim McDermott (D-WA)
• George Miller (D-CA)
• Walt Minnick (D-ID)
• Jim Moran (D-VA)
• Christopher Murphy (D-CT)
• Scott Murphy (D-NY)
• Ron Paul (R-TX)
• Ed Perlmutter (D-CO)
• Tom Perriello (D-VA)
• Gary Peters (D-MI)
• Jared Polis (D-CO)
• Harry Reid (D-NV)
• Linda Sanchez (D-CA)
• Adam Schiff (D-CA)
• Robert Scott (D-VA)
• Pete Sessions (R-TX)
• Bennie Thompson (D-MS)
• Dina Titus (D-NV)
• Mel Watt (D-NC)
• Anthony Weiner (D-NY)
• Lynn Westmoreland (R-GA)


views and opinions expressed are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of