Super Bowl 54 Props: Super Bowl MVP Award odds


As one might expect, some of the best tight ends in NFL history have played in Super Bowls over the past 53 years. As one might not expect, not a single player from that position has won Super Bowl MVP. That realistically might change on February 2 in Miami when the NFC champion San Francisco 49ers face the AFC champion Kansas City Chiefs, who are 1.5-point favorites for Super Bowl LIV.


Odds courtesy of

That’s because easily the two best tight ends in the league – no offense to someone like the Philadelphia Eagles’ Zach Ertz – are in this game in San Francisco’s George Kittle (+1000 to win MVP) and Kansas City’s Travis Kelce (+2000). Kittle set a single-season record for receiving yards by a tight end in 2018 (1,377), barely beating out Kelce that same year (1,336).

Kittle has the most catches and yards in NFL history for a tight end after his first three years, and he’s also a key blocker in the Niners’ dominant run game. Kelce has had at least 80 catches for 1,000 yards in each of the past four seasons (yardage streak is longest-ever by a tight end), and he killed the Houston Texans in the Divisional Round of the playoffs with a record-setting 10 catches for 134 yards and three touchdowns.

Incidentally, a kicker has never won Super MVP, either. The 49ers’ Robbie Gould is +10000 and Chiefs’ Harrison Butker +12500. No offensive lineman has, either, and it’s hard to see that ever happening unless one recovers two fumbles for touchdowns or the like.

Quarterbacks dominate regular-season MVP voting and do in the Super Bowl as well, winning the award 29 times. Thus, Kansas City’s Patrick Mahomes is the +110 favorite and San Francisco’s Jimmy Garoppolo next at +290. Last year, a receiver won it for just the seventh time: New England’s Julian Edelman.

The problem with backing a receiver is that if he has a big game, that means the quarterback must have too. The Chiefs’ Tyreek Hill is the shortest-priced receiver at +2000. He’s actually behind a defensive player, 49ers rookie end Nick Bosa (+900). A defensive lineman has won the award a total of three times (two shared in SB XII) and not since the Chicago Bears’ Richard Dent in SB XX.