Public nominees being accepted for Poker Hall of Fame

Public nominees being accepted for WSOP Hall of Fame

In the midst of a hot summer with an endless supply of poker tournaments, now is the time to submit nominations for the Poker Hall of Fame (PHOF). Public nominations are being accepted from now until about the end of July, and can be submitted through the WSOP website link.

Public nominees being accepted for WSOP Hall of FameBoth player and non-player nominees can be submitted. Multiple selections are possible by a single visitor; however, each selection has to be submitted separately. For a player’s name to be submitted, that individual must have participated in a recognized competition, be at least 40 years old, must have played in a high-stakes game and must have gained the respect of his or her peers. Non-player candidates must have significantly contributed to the growth and success of poker, leaving positive and long-lasting results.

The PHOF is owned by Caesars and is part of the WSOP’s operational framework. Caesars inherited the hall of fame when it changed hands from Binion’s Horseshoe to Harrah’s in 2004. Harrah’s was subsequently acquired by Caesars. Typically, two individuals are selected for entry each year.

After the closing of the two-month nomination window, the top ten recommended individuals are reviewed by the PHOF selection committee. The committee has the authority to swap names, if it desires, for individuals that it feels deserves recognition despite not being selected by the public. After agreeing to the final ten, a vote is held by the 25 living members of the PHOF and a small panel of journalists. The finalists will more than likely be announced in September, with the induction ceremony to be held in October or November.

Last year, David Ulliott and Phil Ivey were inducted into the hall of fame. There are now a total of 54 that have been selected over the years, including Jennifer Harmon and John Juanda (2015), Daniel Negreanu (2014), Mike Sexton (2009), Phil Hellmuth (2007) and Doyle Brunson (1988). The largest number inducted at once was in 1979 when Johnny Moss, Felton “Corky” McCorquodale, Nick “The Greek” Dandolos, Edmond Hoyle, Red Winn, Sid Wyman and James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok were selected.