WSOP review: Grumpy wins 8-Game; Hallaert deep run; Monnette ring hunt

WSOP review: Grumpy wins 8-Game; Hallaert deep run; Monnette ring hunt

Another round-up of news from the World Series of Poker including a bracelet win for Ron “Grumpy” Ware, another deep run from Kenny Hallaert, and John Monnette searching for bracelet #3.

I tried.

I really did.

But I just couldn’t find a photograph of Ron Ware with a smile on his face.

But I am sure, the man known as Grumpy is positively sizzling inside after winning his first World Series of Poker (WSOP) bracelet in Event #21: $1,500 8-Game Mix 6-Handed.

Ware defeated 472 players to capture the $145,577WSOP review: Grumpy wins 8-Game; Hallaert deep run; Monnette ring hunt first prize, 12-months after finishing third in the same event. He entered the heads-up phase with Mike Ross with a slight chip lead, after holding 50% of the chips in play when five-handed. Ross played well during heads-up but always seemed to be eating from the plate holding the pistachio shells.

Mr Grumpy now has a WSOP bracelet and a World Series of Poker Circuit (WSOPC) gold ring, winning an Omaha Hi-Lo event in Lake Tahoe back in 2009.

Two previous bracelet winners made the final table. Chris Vitch finished fifth, and Fabrice Soulier finished third. It was Soulier’s fourth cash of the series, and his second final table (he finished fourth in the $10k Omaha Hi-Lo Championship). Vitch finished tenth in that same competition.

Final Table Results

1. Ron Ware – $145,577
2. Mike Ross – $89,948
3. Fabrice Soulier – $58,968
4. Sachin Bhargava – $39,545
5. Chris Vitch – $27,142
6. Ryan Himes $19,077

Multiple WSOP bracelet winners who earned a crust in this one included Daniel Negreanu (15th), Tom Schneider (22nd), and Shaun Deeb (26th)

Kenny Hallaert Running Deep Again

Want a lesson on how to run deep in large field WSOP events, then hire Kenny Hallaert.

The Belgian pro finished 5/22374 in the inaugural COLOSSUS back in 2015, before finishing sixth in last year’s Main Event from a field of 6,737 entrants. And as Day 2 of the MILLIONAIRE MAKER comes to a close, Hallaert is still in contention.

7,761 players entered the re-entry, multi-starting flight event, and there are 136 left. Each player is guaranteed an $8k payday, and here are a few more well-known players who were chinking martini glasses as they bagged up.

Jessica Dawley (650,000), Ralph Perry (643,000), and Kenny Hallaert (523,000), Joe Cada (508,000), Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier (451,000), Brian Rast (357,000), Farzad Bonyadi (356,000), Jonathan Karamilikis (345,000),

And here are the Top 10 Chip Counts.

1. Senavio Ramirez III – 1,570,000
2. Lucas Blanco – 1,339,000
3. Daniel Lee – 1,196,000
4. Scott Baumstein – 1,187,000
5. Michael Falcon Ravn – 1,135,000
6. Brian Altman – 1,112,000
7. Victor Wan – 1,101,100
8. Brayden Gazlay – 1,101,000
9. Yervand Boyadjian – 1,023,000
10. Harsukhpaul Sangha – 980,00

The winner will float away with a $1.2m and a trail of high-class hookers following them to their car.

John Monnette Leads the $10k No-Limit 2-7 Lowball Draw Championships

WSOP review: Grumpy wins 8-Game; Hallaert deep run; Monnette ring huntJohn Monnette is to mixed games what Sean Connery is to the James Bond franchise, so it should come as no surprise to see him leading the final eight players in Event #22: $10,000 No-Limit 2-7 Lowball Draw Championship.

It seems the $10,000 version of this game is not everybody’s cup of tea. Only 92 people bothered to enter, making it to the lowest attendance of the series so far, but there is more firepower at the final table than the 1940s Soviet Army.

Final Table Line Up

Seat 1: Paul Volpe – 315,000
Seat 2: John Monnette – 1,051,000
Seat 3: Darren Elias – 637,500
Seat 4: Mike Gorodinsky – 591,000
Seat 5: Mike Leah – 618,500
Seat 6: Xavier Kyablue – 484,500
Seat 7: Per Hildebrand – 474,500
Seat 8: James Chen – 428,000

Robert Mizrachi (14th), Shaun Deeb (13th), Mike Watson (11th), Jon Turner (10th), and Dario Sammartino (9th) also cashed.

$256,610 awaits the winner.