2015 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open: Zazay, Mercier, Gonzalez and Eldridge Win the Big Four

TAGs: David Eldridge, Fabrizio Gonzalez, Jason Mercier, Omar Zazay

Omar Zazay, Jason Mercier, Fabrizio Gonzalez and David Eldridge were the last men standing after the Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open, and Poker Night in America, live streamed four major final tables, simultaneously.

2015 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open: Zazay, Mercier, Gonzalez and Eldridge Win the Big FourA quartet of smiling faces brought the 2015 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open to a climactic closure on Tuesday. The tournament organizers, in conjunction with Poker Night in America, took the unprecedented step of simultaneously live streaming four major final tables, and Omar Zazay, Jason Mercier, Fabrizio Gonzalez and David Eldridge walked away with the titles.

The biggest one of the lot went the way of Omar Zazay, who was victorious in the $5m Guaranteed $5,250 buy-in event. 907 players entered, producing an overlay of $601,050, and Zazay defeated local dealer Brian Phillis in heads-up action to capture the $1m first prize. Dan Colman made another impressive run, finishing third, a year after winning the title and $1.4m first prize.

“I was focused on winning and I kept my eyes on the prize,” Zazay told sideline reporter Tatjana Pasalic after his win.

Final Table Results

1st. Omar Zazay – $1,000,000

2nd. Brian Phillis – $575,000

3rd. Dan Colman – $310,000

4th. Larry Mocchia – $220,000

5th. Randy Pfeifer – $180,000

6th. Joey Couden – $150,000

7th. Vladislav Mezheritsky – $125,000

8th. Paul Volpe – $100,000

9th. Rick Alvarado – $75,000

Jason Mercier Wins the SHRPO High Roller

There is a reason Jason Mercier is the #1 ranked live tournament player on the Global Poker Index (GPI).

He wins poker tournaments.

His third live victory of the year came in the $25,400 No-Limit Hold’em High Roller. The tournament attracted 83 entrants, created a $2,075,000 prize pool, and only the players fortunate enough to reach the final table received any reward. Mercier defeated Ian O’Hara in heads-up action to take the $652,800 first prize, and that takes his lifetime earnings to $15,879,774.

Mercier’s victory was even sweeter as his family was in attendance to see him pick up the huge first prize.

“For as many tournaments as I have won, I’ve never actually had my family here.” Mercier told SHRPO officials after his win.

Final Table Results

1st. Jason Mercier – $652,800

2nd. Ian O’Hara – $391,700

3rd. Sean Winter – $245,500

4th. Ankush Mandavia – $186,200

5th. Barry Hutter – $141,900

6th. David Sands – $116,600

7th. Sarin Ashwin – $93,400

8th. Phil Laak – $74,400

9th. David Peters – $57,500

Fabrizio Gonzalez Wins the $1m Guaranteed No-Limit Hold’em Freezeout

The third title of four was handed to Fabrizio Gonzalez. The Uruguayan defeated Danny Fuhs to capture the first prize of $236,400. It is the largest live score of his career thus far. In July, he finished fifth in the $10,400 Bellagio Cup XI for $156,204, and in 2012 he picked up $191,646 for a 45th place finish in the World Series of Poker (WSOP) Main Event. His $1.1m in live tournament earnings means he is the winningest player in Uruguayan poker history.

Final Table Results

1st. Fabrizio Gonzalez – $236,400

2nd. Danny Fuhs – $141,800

3rd. Darryl Ronconi – $84,800

4th. Xuan Liu – $70,900

5th. Seth Davies – $59,100

6th. Chris Hunichen – $47,300

7th. Jon Borenstein – $35,500

8th. David Diaz – $29,500

9th. Casey Yontz

David Eldridge Wins the $1,100 No-Limit Hold’em Re-Entry

The final member of the Big Four was David Eldridge, who picked up $146,100 after victory in the $1,100 No-Limit Hold’em Re-Entry event.

794 entrants created a total prize pool of $794,000, and Eldridge managed to hold on to his Day 2 chip leader position from start to finish. It’s his biggest win by a wide margin; his previous best coming at the 2015 WSOP when he finished fourth in a $1,500 Pot Limit Hold’em event for $55,960.

Final Table Results

1st. David Eldridge – $146,100

2nd. Rubin Ybarra – $84,700

3rd. Gavin O’Rourke – $51,100

4th. Dan Ishaki – $43,800

5th. Anthony Nardi – $36,500

6th. Evan Panesis – $29,200

7th. Viet Vo – $21,900

8th. Jamie Lewin – $18,300

9th. Mohammed Siddiqui – $14,050


views and opinions expressed are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of