Blake Bohn Wins the MSPT Meskwaki Main Event

Blake Bohn Wins the MSPT Meskwaki Main Event

Blake Bohn has won the Mid-States Poker Tour (MSPT) Main Event at the Meskwaki casino in Iowa after defeating Justin Thurlow in heads-up action to take the first prize of $101,229.

Blake Bohn is in pole position for the Mid-States Poker Tour (MSPT) Player of the Year (POY) title after topping a field of 410 entrants in the $1,110 MSPT Main Event at the Meskwaki Casino, Iowa.

Blake Bohn Wins the MSPT Meskwaki Main Event
[Image Credit: PokerNews]
Bohn – who is a member of MSPT Team Pro – bagged his second title after overcoming a final table that contained two other former champions: Peixin Liu taking the Shakopee title in 2014, and David Gonia doing likewise in Columbus in 2013.

It was Bohn’s fifth MSPT final table. I have already mentioned his two victories, but he also finished runner-up to Ben Marsh in an event held in Welch 2011, runner-up to Mark Sandness in an event held in Columbus 2014, and third behind the impressive duo of Justin Liberto and Greg Himmelbrand in Maryland Live! 2015.

The 410 entrants created a total prize pool of $410,000 and 45-people picked up a minimum of $1,981. That included former MSPT title winner, and 2015 MSPT POY interest Angelina Rich (10th) and World Series of Poker Circuit (WSOPC) gold ring winner Rex Clinkscales.

Bohn – who finished 23rd in the recent WSOP Main Event for $262,574 – has now earned over $2.3m in live tournaments, and holds the MSPT POY lead over Mark Hodge by 410 points.

Final Table Results

1st. Blake Bohn – $101,229

2nd. Justin Thurlow – $58,442

3rd. Gregory Gates – $35,658

4th. Peixin Liu – $28,725

5th. David Gonia – $22,583

6th. Jim Boone – $18,820

7th. Ryan Delorme – $15,056

8th. James Wilson – $11,490

9th. Phil Mader – $7,925.

MSPT Player of the Year Standings

1st. Blake Bohn – 3,000 points

2nd. Mark Hodge – 2,590

3rd. Angelina Rich – 2,500

4th. Nick Pupillo – 2,050

5th. Kane Lai – 1,900