LAPT Peru: Chile’s Claudio Moya and USA’s Scott Davies Win the Majors

LAPT Peru: Chile’s Claudio Moya and USA’s Scott Davies Win the Majors

The Latin American Poker Tour stop in Peru has come to a climax with the Chilean Claudio Moya taking the Main Event title and America’s Scott Davies doing likewise in the High Roller.

LAPT Peru: Chile’s Claudio Moya and USA’s Scott Davies Win the MajorsI told you a big fat porky pie yesterday.

When bringing you the news that PokerStars had announced plans to merge the Latin American Poker Tour (LAPT) Season 8 Finale with the Brazilian Series of Poker (BSOP) Millions, I told you that the only event left on the tour stop, until that point, was Uruguay.

I was wrong.

Whilst I was typing my lies, a 51-year old businessman from Chile, and a former World Series of Poker Asia-Pacific (WSOP-APAC) Main Event champion from the States, were exerting their manly rage on their way to titles in the Atlantic City Casino in Lima, Peru.

Here is a round up of that action:

The LAPT Peru Main Event was a $2,500 buy-in that attracted some interest from all over the globe. The former European Poker Tour (EPT) Champion, David Vamplew, had decided to pop in on his way to Machu Picchu, and he wasn’t alone. The Australian Martin Kozlov was also in town. Vamplew finished 32nd and Kozlov 49th.

There were 366 entrants in total. That created a total prize pool of $807,396 and after four days of action, 10-hours of final table action including a seesaw heads-up match lasting four hours, the Chilean Claudio Moya walked away with the title. He also finished 14th in this event last season. It was the sixth time a Chilean had won a LAPT Main Event.

At times Moya made this game look easy as he dealt with poker players like a spider would when a bluebottle accidentally flies into its web. By the time he reached the heads-up phase he held a 5.5m v 1.6m chip lead over Chadi Moustapha. To be fair, Moustapha did take the lead at one point, but Moya regained his composure to take the match.

Final Table Results

1st. Claudio Moya – $135,876

2nd. Chadi Moustapha – $120,000

3rd. Daniel Restrepo – $71,780

4th. Cristian Ruiz – $58,060

5th. Marcus Filho – $45,940

6th. Helio Bandeira Neves – $35,360

7th. Jose Munoz – $26,320

8th. Ricardo Rabah – $19,060

Scott Davies Wins the LAPT Peru High Roller Title

There was also a $5,000 High Roller on the schedule and 37 entrants created a total prize pool of $168,683.

The winner was the former WSOP-APAC Main Event winner, Scott Davies, beating Regis Kogler in heads-up action to take the $57,363 first prize. It’s Davies third victory since that career-defining win, and it’s also the largest single amount of money he has won since taking the $737,907 first prize out of Melbourne back in 2014.

In the Money Finishes

1st. Scott Davies – $57,363

2nd. Regis Kogler – $39,640

3rd. Maximiliano Gallardo – $25,300

4th. Claudio Latorre – $19,400

5th. Oscar Alache Orrego – $15,180

6th. Jose Quintas – $11,800