Eddy Sabat Wins the 2015 California State Poker Championships

TAGs: California State Poker Championships, Eddy Sabat

Eddy Sabat wins the 2015 California State Poker Championships after agreeing a three-way deal with Steve Vargas and Joel Tushnet handing him the trophy, $129,240 and a seat at the $10,000 LAPC Main Event.

Eddy Sabat Wins the 2015 California State Poker Championships

[Image Credit: PokerNews]

Eddy Sabat has won the 2015 California State Poker Championships.

The LA lad cut a three-way deal with Steve Vargas, and Joel Tushnet, that saw him walk away with the Grizzly Bear trophy, $129,240 in prize money, and a seat into the $10,000 LAPC Main Event after his victory at the Commerce Casino.

The $1,650 Main Event attracted 462 entrants. That meant the $500,000 guarantee was passed with ease. $693,000 was divided between 55 players and Eddy Sabat conquered the lot to continue the succession of excellent Californian State Poker Championship champions: Brent Hanks (2013) and Jeff Madsen (2014).

In truth, it was a final table devoid of superstar names. Eddy Sabat and his $2.6m in live tournament earnings handing him the starring role. Although there was another final table appearance for Behtaj Amiri, who finished runner-up in this contest back in 2012.

The three way day was cut after Sabat had eliminated Tommy San, in fourth place. Tushnet opened the action, Sabat applied the three-bet, San moved all-in, Tushnet ducked out of the way, and Sabat finished him off A9hh>AQ after a nine appeared on the turn to hand San the beat.

That elimination gave Sabat 80% of chips in play, and with both players down to fewer than 10bb each, he agreed for them to chop the second and third place prize money. It was Sabat’s first victory since 2008, when he won the APPT Macau Main Event for $453,427. It was his seventh six figure score of his career.

Final Table Results

1st. Eddy Sabat – $129,240 + $10k LAPC Seat*

2nd. Steve Vargas – $80,215*

3rd. Joel Tushnet – $80,215*

4th. Tommy San – $46,430

5th. Hyong Kim – $34,860

6th. Diana Yang – $27,930

7th. Bobby Poe – $23,280

8th. Prahbo Mogulla – $18,570

9th. Quynam Nguyen – $13,930

10th. Behtaj Amiri – $10,190

*Denotes a three-way deal


views and opinions expressed are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of

Related Posts

    Sorry, no posts matched your criteria.