2011 Poker Hall of Fame Nominations Being Accepted

Poker Hall of Fame 2011


Poker Hall of Fame
LAS VEGAS (July 4, 2011)
– Starting today and continuing through August 14, the public has an opportunity to nominate any individual affiliated with poker for consideration for induction into the Poker Hall of Fame.

As in the previous two years, the nomination, selection and voting process will culminate in the enshrinement of a worthy inductee(s) in November as part of the WSOP Main Event Final Table.

The submission process takes place online at WSOP.com/phof.

The Poker Hall of Fame, established in 1979, was acquired by Caesars Entertainment along with the World Series of Poker in 2004.  Though the Hall of Fame is virtual in nature, its membership includes poker’s most influential players and other important contributors to the game.

There are 18 living members, and the honor of Poker Hall-of-Famer has been bestowed upon 40 individuals.

The Poker Hall of Fame traditionally elects one or two members annually.

This year’s process will work as follows:

  • From today through August 14, 2011, the public will be able to cast their nominations via online submission at www.WSOP.com.  Each submission will allow for a nominee name and up to 250 words supporting that nominee’s worthiness.
  • On or after August 15, the entire list of nominated individuals will be forwarded to the newly-created Nominating Committee, who will be tasked with reviewing all submissions and determining the final list of eligible candidates for 2011 induction. This committee will determine if any others should be added (such as non-poker players who have contributed greatly to the game, any glaring omissions, etc.) and determine the final eligible list.
  • Caesars will announce the Nominating Committee’s list on or around September 15, 2011.  Anyone on this list will be forwarded to the official voters, made up of current Poker Hall of Fame members and select media, who cast ballots to determine the induction class of 2011.
  • On September 16, a finalist ballot will be sent to the current Hall-of-Famers (18 living) who will each rank the nominees in order of preference – ranking only those they deem worthy of admission in 2011.  Each Hall-of-Famer will also have the ability to add a write-in candidate, who won’t be eligible for admission in 2011, but will automatically be added to the consideration list for 2012.  In addition, a select group of media members will also be sent a ballot for ranking the finalists.  All votes will be cast in private, with each PHOF and media member entitled but not obligated to keep their vote secret.  After receiving back all ballots, the PHOF governing council reviews the selections and helps finalize any tiebreakers or errors.
  • The two finalists receiving the most votes, as long as they are a majority, will be inducted during the enshrinement ceremony at the Final Table of Main Event in November, 2011.

The main criteria for the Poker Hall of Fame are as follows:

  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination [to be known as the “Chip Reese” rule, adopted in 2011, 20 years after Reese’s induction at age 40]
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

The list of the 40 Poker Hall of Fame members is as follows:

Poker Hall of Famers