Kimo Sabe Mezcal sponsors MSPT Season 8 Player of the Year

TAGs: Jordan Young, Kimo Sabe Mezcal, Mid-States Poker Tour

The distilled alcoholic beverage producers, Kimo Sabe Mezcal, are the new sponsor for the Season 8 Mid-States Poker Tour Player of the Year award, and Jordan Young takes an early lead with victory in the Venetian.

The Mid-States Poker Tour (MSPT) have agreed on a sponsorship deal with Kimo Sabe Mezcal.

The distilled alcoholic beverage producers are the new title sponsors for the Season 8 MSPT Player of the Year (POY) race, with the winner receiving a package worth $10,000.

Let’s break that down for you.

• Four Main Event Buy-Ins ($4,400)
• MSPT Venetian Summer Event Buy-In and Travel Cash ($1,500)
• $250 cash to spend at every Main Event up to a limit of $4,250

Kimo Sabe Mezcal sponsors MSPT Season 8 Player of the YearThe MSPT has also brokered a deal with poker tax specialists Kondler & Associates who will offer the POY $800 worth of tax-related paperwork for the 2017 tax year.

Oh, I nearly forgot.

The winner also gets their mush splashed across the front page of the MSPT magazine.

The press release doesn’t state whether the winner would get a bottle or two of Mezcal with or without the worm. Mezcal differs to Tequila because it chooses from 42 different varieties of agave plant native to Mexico, whereas Tequila specialises in only blue agave plants.

Jordan Young Takes an Early Lead

The early leader in the Season 8 MSPT POY race is Jordan Young. The Michigan native defeated a field of 695 entrants in the MSPT’s inaugural $1,100 buy-in Poker Bowl held in Sheldon Adelson’s dungeon.

The event pulled in $681,100, more than double the guarantee, and Young padded his bank account by $117,381 after cutting a heads-up deal with American Poker Award (APA) Breakout Player of the Year nominee, Ankush Mandavia. It was the biggest score of Young’s career and means he sits on top of the POY Leaderboard.

Here are the final table results

1. Jordan Young – $117,381*
2. Ankush Mandavia – $107,381*
3. Chris Moon – $68,342
4. Jordan Cristos – $46,996
5. Patrick Gunraj – $35,417
6. Jason Vanstrom – $26,563
7. Michael Vanier – $20,433
8. Mark Hamilton – $16,346
9. Gary Bolden – $12,260
*Indicates a heads-up deal

The next MSPT event will be the $1,100 buy-in Main Event at the Running Aces Casino in Minnesota. It’s the first time the MSPT team has set up camp in that part of the world.\

The MSPT is one of four poker tours in the running for the Mid-Major Circuit of the Year award at the American Poker Awards alongside Heartland Poker Tour (HPT), World Series of Poker Circuit (WSOPC), and WPTDeepStacks (WPTDS).


views and opinions expressed are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of