MacroPoker to host 2016 Online Poker Awards

TAGs: macropoker, Online Poker Awards

The Russian-facing online poker results tracking site, MacroPoker, are set to host their first-ever Online Poker Awards to herald the achievements of the online MTT community throughout 2016.

Michael Mizrachi has won over $7.4m playing live poker tournaments. Only 18 people in history have won more. He has the fancy nickname, three World Series of Poker (WSOP) bracelets – including the Poker Player’s Championship (PPC) – two World Poker Tour (WPT) Championships, and is one of the first players that springs to mind when American companies want to slap a sponsorship patch on a poker players arm.

MacroPoker to Host 2016 Online Poker Awards Impressive?

Well, apparently, he is a big fish.

And he’s not alone.

I could pull a lot more players from the Top 20 All Time Money Earners, tie them to a post and watch as the professionals shoot their resumes to shit.

Winning a lot of money and titles doesn’t mean you are a good player, and this is why it’s always been so difficult to separate the wheat from the chaff.

And if you think it’s difficult to pick out the great live players, think how difficult it is to do likewise with those who play their trade online.

Macropoker is up for the task.

The World’s First Online Poker Awards

Online poker stat website, MacroPoker, is planning to host the first ceremony dedicated to the recognition of online poker players. The event will recognise the bee’s knees in 10 general categories as well as hand out awards for the best player in 20 selected countries.

Here are the categories. The winners will be chosen based on Macropoker’s unique scoring system.

1. Best High Stakes MTT Player

2. Best Middle Stakes MTT Player

3. Best Low Stakes MTT Player

4. Best SNG Player

5. Best HU Player

6. Discovery of the Year

7. Player With The Highest Profit

There are also awards for a ‘Legend of Online Poker,’ Best Caster’, and a special Sponsor’s Prize. Registered members of the site can vote for the ‘Legend’ and ‘Caster’ categories.

Country awards will be doled out to players competing in Brazil, Russia, Germany, Canada, Great Britain, Netherlands, Ukraine, Greece, Romania, Australia, Poland, Argentina, Denmark, Sweden, Czech Republic, Hungary, Norway, Spain, Italy and France.

All of the statistics used when determining the winners come from the MacroPoker database. You may notice a slight bias towards tournaments, and this is because of a lack of data for online cash games.

According to stats on the MacroPoker site, the Greek player Damianos ‘damourinio’ Aslandis, is the current leader in the High Stakes MTT Player race, just ahead of Fabrizio ‘SixthSenSe19′ Gonzalez. Amongst Aslandis’s 2016 victories is a PokerStars Sunday Million win for $185,714 back in January when he defeated 6,105 players, including Vladimir ‘vovtroy’ Troyanosvky in heads-up action.

Another interesting name to come out of the MacroPoker leaderboards is Talal ‘raidalot’ Shakerchi. The Big One for One Drop participant is currently leading the UK Country race, despite not being a pro poker player.

MacroPoker will host the first Online Poker Awards, live on Twitch, 17 Dec 2016.


views and opinions expressed are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of