Michael Lindstrom Wins the APT Cambodia Main Event

TAGs: APPT, APPT Main Event, APT Cambodia, Hendon Mob, Lee Davy, Michael Lindstrom, sam razavi

Michael Lindstrom wins the Asian Poker Tour (APT) Main Event in Cambodia after defeating Korea’s Jae Chul Chang in heads-up action.

Michael Lindstrom Wins the APT Cambodia Main Event

[img courtesy of Asian Poker Tour]

Danish poker excelled at the recent APT Main Event in Cambodia, with three of the eight finalists all heralding from the Scandinavian country, and Michael Lindstrom smashing the field to take home the first prize of $27,700.

The $1,100 buy-in event consisted of two starting flights, and Lindstrom was the chip leader at the end of both of them, when his 211,000 chips weighed in far heavier than anyone else remaining from the initial field of 112 entrants.

Not much is known of the Dane but his Hendon Mob stats lend a picture that he likes to play in the Asian area with most of his cashes coming from the Macanese island of Taipa. This was his biggest score to date, trumping the $6,477 he earned for a 36th place finish in the 2008 APPT Macau, Taipa Main Event.

According to the blog, Lindstrom demolished the final table as he went wire-to-wire for his virginal victory, defeating Korea’s Jae Chul Chang in heads-up action. The final table also housed the American Jeff Timms. The World Series of Poker Circuit (WSOPC) holder and WSOP final tablist, finished third.

Final Table Standings

1st: Michael Lindstrom (Denmark) – $27,700

2nd: Jae Chul Chang (Korea) – $16,200

3rd: Jeff Tims (USA) – $11,200

4th: Feng Zhao (Singapore) – $8,200

5th: Lars Borno (Denmark) – $6,800

6th: Benyamin Canatan (Denmark) – $5,600

7th: Richard Mari (UK) – $4,600

8th: Yo Doi (Japan) – $3,900

One man missing from that list is the Englishman Sam Razavi. The former Black belt Poker pro, did not make the grade, but his side event victory means he is still on course to win an unprecedented three consecutive APPT Player of the Year awards.

There are just two series remaining with the APT Asian Series Manila to be held at Resorts World Manila, Pasay City, Philippines, Sept. 10–17  and a yet to be approved APT Asian Series China, possibly in Guangzhou.

Player of the Year Leaderboard

1st. Samad Razavi (England) – 1,048.50 points

2nd. Jae Chul Chang (Korea) – 915.55 points

3rd. Feng Zhao (Singapore) – 900.209 points

4th. Yo Doi (Japan) – 775.60 points

5th. Michael Kim Falcon (Denmark) – 771.00 points


views and opinions expressed are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of