Nieminen replaces Gleason as WLA President

TAGs: Risto Nieminen, Veikkaus Oy, World Lotteries Association

Every two years at the World Lotteries Association a new executive committee is elected. During this year’s General Meeting at the WLA 2010 Convention and Trade Show in Brisbane, Australia, a new President was elected and the Executive Committee received two new members.

President and CEO of Finland’s national lottery operator Veikkaus Oy, Risto Nieminen has been elected president of the World Lotteries Association. After being a member of the WLA Executive Committee since 2004 and serving as senior vice-president on the Executive Committee, Nieminen replaces president and CEO of the Kentucky Lottery Corporation, Arthur L. Gleason as the new head honcho.

Mr. Henry Chan Executive Director, HKJC Lotteries Limited moved up to assume the position of Senior Vice-President on the Executive Committee while the position of Vice-President has been assumed by Mr. Benjamín González Roaro, CEO, Lotería Nacional para la Asistencia Pública, Mexico. Mr. González is new to the WLA Executive Committee. Also new on the WLA Executive Committee is Ms. Rebecca Paul Hargrove, President and CEO of the Tennessee Education Lottery, and Ms. Paul Hargrove will be serving as the NASPL representative on the WLA Executive Committee.


views and opinions expressed are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of